Daily Archives: July 4, 2014

July 4 in San Antonio history…

World War I – July 4, 1914:  Archduke Franz Ferdinand and his wife are laid to rest in Artstetten, 50 miles west of Vienna.

1894
An immense U.S. flag was draped from the balcony of San Antonio’s City Hall to mark the Fourth of July because it was too big to be raised on the city’s flagpole.

1946
Despite being arrested yesterday for violating the city’s polio ban, James F. “Jimmie” Johnson, owner of Playland Park, said that he would open again today.  The city’s ban prohibits children under 14 from attending public places.  Johnson said, “I told [them] that I have been and am willing to co-operate as long as the ban is enforced downtown and in other places.  But, I also told them that I was not going to be the victim of discrimination and permit myself to be the only one to stay closed.”

1976
San Antonio celebrated the nation’s 200th birthday. Do you remember what you did?